MPTC Training Sessions

All MPTC training sessions are coordinated by our Senior Coach, Brian Vernon (Triathlon Australia Performance Coach) and unless otherwise noted, are free of cost.

To attend our MPTC training sessions you MUST be a member of Triathlon Australia.
Note: Winter track sessions at Ballam Park do require a gold coin donation for the cost of lighting.

Swim sessions at PARC are held by MPTC.  PARC membership or casual entry fees to pool apply + $5 per session payable to coach on deck.

Swim sessions at Peninsula School are held by Team Barefoot.  $12 per session payable to coach on deck.

Remember that if you can’t make the Tuesday night Run session, Club Coach Ross Taylor runs a session with TXR Runners at 7:00pm on a Tuesday night at Ballam Park.  TXR Runners open their sessions to MPTC Members at Ballam Park on Tuesday evenings at 7:00pm and Friday evenings at 6:00pm.

MPTC Social Training

MPTC social training activities are made by casual arrangement between club members, or in association with clubs affiliated with MPTC.
Check arrangements on the MPTC Facebook page HERE

MPTC Official Training Sessions Calendar

DATE DAY TIME LOCATION TYPE DISTANCE CONTACT
MAY 2019
1/5/19 Wed 7:00pm PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle
2/5/19 Thurs
3/5/19 Fri 5:30am PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle
4/5/19 Sat 7:00am Langwarrin Fauna & Flora Reserve Running 40-60 min Brian
5/5/19 Sun 7:00am FYC Ride 60-90 min Brian
6/5/19 Mon 6:00pm Peninsula School Swim Technique 60+ min Dave/Steve F
7/5/19 Tues 5:45pm Ballam Park Track running 60-70 min Brian
8/5/19 Wed 7:00pm PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle
9/5/19 Thurs
10/5/19 Fri 5:30am PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle
11/5/19 Sat 7:00am FYC Run 40- 60 min Brian
12/5/19 Sun 7:00am FYC Ride 60-90 min Brian
13/5/19 Mon 6:00pm Peninsula School Swim Technique 60+ min Dave/Steve F
14/5/19 Tues 5:45pm Ballam Park Track running 60-70 min Brian
15/5/19 Wed 7:00pm PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle
16/5/19 Thurs
17/5/19 Fri 5:30am PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle
18/5/19 Sat 7:00am FYC Run 40- 60 min Brian
19/5/19 Sun 7:00am FYC Ride 60-90 min Brian
20/5/19 Mon 6:00pm Peninsula School Swim Technique 60+ min Dave/Steve F
21/5/19 Tues 5:45pm Ballam Park Track running 60-70 min Brian
21/5/19 Tues 7:30pm FYC Committee Meeting 60 min Kirrily
22/5/19 Wed 7:00pm PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle
23/5/19 Thurs 6:00pm FYC Wind trainer 60 mins Brian
24/5/19 Fri 5:30am PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle
25/5/19 Sat 7:00am FYC Run 40- 60 min Brian
26/5/19 Sun 7:00am FYC Ride 60-90 min Brian
27/5/19 Mon 6:00pm Peninsula School Swim Technique 60+ min Dave/Steve F
28/5/19 Tues 5:45pm Ballam Park Track running 60-70 min Brian
29/5/19 Wed 7:00pm PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle
30/5/19 Thurs
31/5/19 Fri 5:30am PARC Pool Swimming 60 min Kyle

Swimming

MPTC holds swim squads at PARC on Wednesday nights at 7:00PM and Friday mornings at 5:30AM.
From July 1, 2015, all squad participants are required to either hold a PARC membership or pay the casual fee at each session.  Corporate memberships are available to all MPTC members at PARC.
In addition to this, a $5 fee is payable to the squad coach on the night for their services.

During the Summer months, we hold Open Water Swim Sessions on a Wednesday evening from the Clubrooms (at FYC) from 5:30pm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Team Barefoot sessions at The Peninsula School Senior Pool are open to MPTC members.  Sessions require payment per session or via prepaid swim card and are held on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. Monday evening technique sessions are held in conjunction with Team Barefoot. Full details: here

 

Team Barefoot also hold an Adult Learn to Swim program.  Please contact Steve Foster on 0413 319 140 for further details.

 

 

Cycling

Wind trainer sessions over the winter months commence again at 6:00pm on Thursday 23 May 2019.  MPTC has a number of JetBlack wind trainers available for use.  BYO wind trainer or “First in best dressed”.

During winter our ride training is a mix of wind trainer sessions held at FYC on a Thursday evening and a Sunday long ride from 7:00am.

Saturday rides from Mornington Park with Team Barefoot at 7:00am

Running

Run sessions will be varied with track, trail, flat and hill runs.

Saturday runs from FYC at 7:00am

Sunday runs from Mornington Park with Team Barefoot at 7:00am

Location Details

Our training locations are all held locally and are listed above.  You can find these locations at:

  • Frankston Yacht Club, Long Island Drive (via Davey Street), Frankston [Mel 102 B3]*
  • Ballam Park Athletes track, Benanee Drive Frankston [Mel 103 B3]
  • Oliver’s Hill Jetty, Nepean Hwy Frankston [Mel 101 K5]
  • Chelsea Velodrome, Edithvale Rd Edithvale [Mel 93 C9]
  • Langwarrin Fauna & Flora Reserve, McClelland Drive Langwarrin [Mel 103C10]
  • Top end of Skye Rd, Frankston North [Mel 102 E2]
  • Frankston Life Saving Club, Wells St Frankston [Mel 99 C2]
  • Victoria Park, Williams St Frankston [Mel 99 C4]
  • Frankston Gardens Drive Carrum Downs [Mel B2]
  • Peninsula School Pool, Nepean Hwy entrance 7 [Mel 105 F5]
  • Mornington Park Mornington [Mel 104 D10]
  • National Water Sports Centre, Riverend Rd Bangholme [Mel 97 K1]
  • Bunnings carpark Mornington [Mel 104 J11]
  • Casey Fields Criterium Cycle track [Mel 134 G 9 ]

*Please note that parking at FYC is timed and requires payment unless you have a Frankston Foreshore Permit.